Top
Top

Reviews of Sharpham nationally & internationally

Our Reviews

Leave us a review

"Full immersion in the natural world", listing us in '10 of the best meditation retreats in the UK & Europe' - The Guardian

The Guardian - Mon 4th Jan 2014

"If you really want to make a connection with nature, opt for one of the Woodland retreats" - listing us in '25 of the best retreats to reboot your life' - The Observer

The Observer - Sun 13th Jan 2019

"I could feel the soothing effects of being at Sharpham" -  Sunday Telegraph feature on stillness

Sunday Telegraph

"A wonderful place to escape and practice a little mindfulness" - Woman and Home magazine

Woman & Home - 22 Oct 2018

"Stay in a gorgeous Palladian-style mansion on a 550-acre estate in Devon" - Psychologies magazine written by Queen of Retreats

Psychologies Magazine - 13 Jul 2018

"Four days at a retreat designed specifically for people with 'burnout' felt like a gift" - Glamour magazine

Glamour Magazine

We feature twice in a list of top 10 UK wellness retreats, being described as "perfect" and "delightful" - London Evening Standard

London Evening Standard

"A beautiful estate near Totnes, South Devon" - The Guardian

The Guardian - Sat 13th Jan 2018

"Learning to be more 'mindful' and live in the moment can give you renewed energy and clarity, and the secular mindfulness retreats at this Grade 1 listed Georgian mansion are a great place to start."

"Retreat in tranquil surroundings" - featured in 10 idyllic ways to escape Christmas in The Daily Telegraph

"The views across the River Dart valley are worth the visit alone" - The Daily Telegraph

"Gorgeous...inspirational" - The Daily Telegraph in a feature about silent retreats

The Daily Telegraph - 5 Sep 2016

"The place exudes genteel graciousness and the food is beyond divine. It’s very special" - Queen of Retreats review

Queen of Retreats

Sharpham as one of 'five of the world's best yoga retreats' - Mio Skincare

Mio Skincare

Sharpham as one of 'six of the UK's best yoga retreats' - Insure4Sport

Insure4Sport

The Barn Retreat Centre as one of "eight of the best retreats in Britain and Europe" - The Sunday Telegraph

The Sunday Telegraph

Sharpham in list of meditation centres around the UK - The Guardian

The Guardian

Our Mindfulness and Singing retreats are "uplifting, engrossing and restorative in the extreme" - Kindred Spirit magazine

Kindred Spirit magazine

"A small, nurturing, inspiring place...just lovely" - Readers recommend The Barn in The Guardian

The Guardian

Our Mindfulness for Beginners retreat on HipandHealthy online magazine

HipandHealthy Online Magazine

We figure in a list of England's 11 best wellness retreats for a better you - The Culture Trip

The Culture Trip

We're at the top of a list of Devon (and the UK's) best yoga retreats and we're in a list of best retreats for women - on Review My Retreat

Review My Retreat

Lucinda Holliday

a month ago, on Google
A beautiful stay. The house was wonderful with space and comfort and the estate was stunning. Long walks in beautiful countryside, you really felt at one with nature. And the food, well it was amazing. I would recommend a visit.

tina cross

3 weeks ago, on Google
I have had the 3 most amazing days at sharpham house on a mindfulness for beginners retreat. I am amazed at how wonderful the silences were & being away from mobile devices was the most freeing feeling I have had for years. In fact I was not looking forward to being able to access my mobile phone again at the end of it. The days that I spent there have continued to have an effect on me and I feel I can still access that stillness in myself. I cannot recommend this course enough and have shared it with a number of my friends and am hoping that they will take the opportunity and book themselves on a course. I am a Christian and was concerned that it might be “a bit weird” but not at all. I felt closer to God and was able to meditate on scripture- the tutors were lovely caring gentle ladies and were excellent at their delivery. Food was out of.this world & I feel good on the inside as well as in my spirit and body. Thoroughly recommended & extremely enjoyable and insightful

Claire Joseph

a month ago, on Google
I went to Sharpham for the first time last week on a mindfulness/walking retreat with Linda and Nigel. Such a beautiful place and a wonderful experience. Fabulous food and the tranquility was bliss, I'd highly recommend Sharpham to anyone and I'll definitely be back!

Paul Grayson

2 weeks ago, on Google
I visited recently for a 3 day beginner's mindfulness retreat. I was completely new to meditation and retreats, choosing this over others as the website accurately describes the focus is purely on mindfulness and doesn't indicate any religious element for Sharpham House retreats (the barn retreats at Sharpham appearing to have a Buddhist element if that's what you want ). I have to say I was sceptical and would have left early if it wasn't for me. The experience was sublime. The tutors were clearly highly skilled, the house staff were very helpful and the food was amongst the best vegetarian food I have eaten. Living in the house for 3 days was a privilege. Being in silence for part of the retreat meant some small talk was possible but not all the time. I found this to be a good blend. The retreat was just what I needed at this time in my life. It gave me the opportunity not only to start to learn how to be mindful but also to reflect on certain aspects of my life and to better deal with things I can't influence. I intend to use the skills learned to live a calmer, less stressed and more present life. I will return maybe next year to continue the journey. I would highly recommend Sharpham for these reasons.

Alex Whittaker

in the last week, on Google
Had a fantastic time and experience. Sharpham staff were all wonderful, helpful, friendly, knowledgeable, welcoming. Am looking forward to going back.

If you would like to know more about the information on this page, please contact:

Name: Barn Manager
Tel: 01803 732661
Email: [email protected]
Address: The Barn Retreat, Lower Sharpham Barton, Ashprington, Totnes, Devon, UK, TQ9 7DX