Top
Top

Reviews of Sharpham nationally & internationally

Our Reviews

Leave us a review

Listing us in 10 of the UK's best outdoor wellbing retreats: "Where the water’s ebb and flow and the rhythmic paddling help cultivate mindful awareness"

The Guardian - September 2020

Listing us in 30 great breaks in Devon & Dorset - "Our pick is a 5-night silent retreat, involving meditation, exercise & relaxation, with vegetarian dining"

The Times - April 2020

"If you really want to make a connection with nature, opt for one of the Woodland retreats" - listing us in '25 of the best retreats to reboot your life'

The Observer - January 2019

We feature twice in a list of top 10 UK wellness retreats, being described as "perfect" and "delightful"

London Evening Standard - June 2019

'At the Grade 1-listed Sharpham House, you'll concentrate on stillness and appreciate nature as a path back to feeling centred...come ready to awaken your senses'

Country Living - January 2020

"On a 4-night Walking Retreat, attendees can deepen their knowledge of the surrounding coastline while also developing their mindfulness and meditation practice"

Coast magazine - January 2020

"Here you'll concentrate on understanding the land, appreciating its history and bringing your hectic mind to a place of acceptance and peace"

Reader's Digest - January 2020

"Full immersion in the natural world", listing us in '10 of the best meditation retreats in the UK & Europe'

The Guardian - January 2019

We're in a list of 'best wellbeing breaks and yoga retreats in the UK' as the 'best for getting back to nature'

Time Out London - January 2019

"I could feel the soothing effects of being at Sharpham" -  in a feature on stillness

Sunday Telegraph - February 2018

"Four days at a retreat designed specifically for people with 'burnout' felt like a gift"

Glamour Magazine - March 2018

"Learning to be more 'mindful' and live in the moment can give you renewed energy and clarity, and the secular mindfulness retreats at this Grade 1 listed Georgian mansion are a great place to start."

"Retreat in tranquil surroundings" - featured in 10 idyllic ways to escape Christmas

"The views across the River Dart valley are worth the visit alone"

"Gorgeous...inspirational" - feature about silent retreats

The Daily Telegraph

The Barn Retreat Centre as one of "eight of the best retreats in Britain and Europe"

The Sunday Telegraph

"A small, nurturing, inspiring place...just lovely" - Readers recommend The Barn in The Guardian

The Guardian

jo raven

a month ago, on Google
Just back from "Autumn Nurture Retreat" Came to Sharpham with concrete boots and left with air cushioned soles. The glorious landscape can speak for itself but all of the staff / teachers gave so much care, knowledge and passion. Within 5 days my soul ignited, my mind expanded and I felt true emotion and nurturing. How they do it so naturally is magical and my heart now has a large and special place forever Sharpham. x

Ruth Wells

a month ago, on Google
Having spent 3 nights on a woodland retreat in September at Sharpham I would highly recommend to anyone wanting to get away from it all and spend some time in nature. Everything was amazing. Ollie and Israh guided us all the way and so caring. Food was exceptional. Loved everything about Sharpham and I will definitely be returning next year. Thank you.

Kerry Archer

2 months ago, on Google
I have just returned from a 5 night Woodland retreat at Sharpham - I though I was going for a bit of nice camping, meditation and relax time - I got all of that but SO much more. It was the most immersive and amazing 5 days and I have returned home feeling so connected with nature and fellow humans and alive and nourished. It was so so nurturing and has really helped me deal with some suppressed inner emotions. Thank you so much Sharpham for getting these retreats up and running again during 2020.

J Blyth

3 months ago, on Google
The full integration of the trust's vision in every area, of the experience that you will participate in, is tangible. Wholistic! Overused, but actually appropriate here. Kind, Compassionate, Tolerant & Nurturing. Inspiring hope in the future of the human race. Set in hundreds of acres of the most wonderful land. Managed with a lightness of touch & an eye for the symbiosis of birth, life, decay & death. Truly a natural work of art & a tonic for the soul. Sell the family silver & go. You won't regret it!

Clare

2 months ago, on Google
I recently attended a Mindfulness for Beginners retreat and highly recommend it if you are interested in exploring meditation and mindfulness. The teachers (Ramiro and Patti) were very welcoming and kind, as were the rest of the staff, and the food is brilliant and very generous! I enjoyed the mixture of meditation and teaching sessions with personal time for reflection, rest or exploring. Sharpham have also put a lot of effort into running the retreats in line with Covid-19. If you arrive by train to Totnes I'd also recommend walking from the station if you have a backpack - it takes about an hour, through stunning scenery, and marked a lovely beginning and end to the retreat.

If you would like to know more about the information on this page, please contact:

Name: Katie Tokus
Tel: 01803 732708
Email: [email protected]
Address: Sharpham House, Sharpham Estate, Ashprington, Totnes, Devon, TQ9 7UT