Top
Top

Reviews of Sharpham nationally & internationally

Our Reviews

Leave us a review

Listing us in 15 of the UK's best virtual wellbeing retreats: "Start the new year with this inspiring choice of online health breaks"

The Guardian - January 2021

"A superior venue with an unrivalled range of breaks centred on mindfulness and nature" - We are highlighted as Retreat of the Year in an article written by the Queen of Retreats

Psychologies Magazine - January 2021

"Where else can you practise walking meditation among roses and lilies in a formal garden, or meditate in a blue-painted music room where the marble fireplace is a sculptured work of art?" - a feature on our silent retreats in Sharpham House

The Daily Telegraph - January 2021

Listing us in 10 of the UK's best outdoor wellbing retreats: "Where the water’s ebb and flow and the rhythmic paddling help cultivate mindful awareness"

The Guardian - September 2020

Listing us in 30 great breaks in Devon & Dorset - "Our pick is a 5-night silent retreat, involving meditation, exercise & relaxation, with vegetarian dining"

The Times - April 2020

"If you really want to make a connection with nature, opt for one of the Woodland retreats" - listing us in '25 of the best retreats to reboot your life'

The Observer - January 2019

We feature twice in a list of top 10 UK wellness retreats, being described as "perfect" and "delightful"

London Evening Standard - June 2019

'At the Grade 1-listed Sharpham House, you'll concentrate on stillness and appreciate nature as a path back to feeling centred...come ready to awaken your senses'

Country Living - January 2020

"On a 4-night Walking Retreat, attendees can deepen their knowledge of the surrounding coastline while also developing their mindfulness and meditation practice"

Coast magazine - January 2020

"Here you'll concentrate on understanding the land, appreciating its history and bringing your hectic mind to a place of acceptance and peace"

Reader's Digest - January 2020

"Full immersion in the natural world", listing us in '10 of the best meditation retreats in the UK & Europe'

The Guardian - January 2019

We're in a list of 'best wellbeing breaks and yoga retreats in the UK' as the 'best for getting back to nature'

Time Out London - January 2019

"I could feel the soothing effects of being at Sharpham" -  in a feature on stillness

Sunday Telegraph - February 2018

"Four days at a retreat designed specifically for people with 'burnout' felt like a gift"

Glamour Magazine - March 2018

"Learning to be more 'mindful' and live in the moment can give you renewed energy and clarity, and the secular mindfulness retreats at this Grade 1 listed Georgian mansion are a great place to start"

"Retreat in tranquil surroundings" - featured in 10 idyllic ways to escape Christmas

"The views across the River Dart valley are worth the visit alone"

"Gorgeous...inspirational" - feature about silent retreats

The Daily Telegraph

The Barn Retreat Centre as one of "eight of the best retreats in Britain and Europe"

The Sunday Telegraph

"A small, nurturing, inspiring place...just lovely" - Readers recommend The Barn in The Guardian

The Guardian

Fenella Trevillion

a month ago, on Google
Have just come back from 4 days on the Canoeing and Mindfulness Retreat where we slept in yurts in the wood. Am still feeling moved by the experience. The place was beautiful (one participant calling it Narnia), comfortable and most importantly, we were held by five very capable people who gently guided us in a non intrusive way, through the whole journey. An experience that I whole heartedly recommend.

nigel paterson

a month ago, on Google
Just had a fantastic thought-provoking and thoroughly lovely day on the 'Foraging for Medicine' course. The atmosphere was calm and gentle, set in beautiful grounds with quality teaching from Brigit. I learnt lots of new ideas and came away keen to go on another Sharpham course. Thank you for a special memorable day!

Lauren Packham

a week ago, on Google
Lovely experience here. Fantastic food at the retreat. Beautiful place.

MWOOD

a month ago, on Google
I took part in a 6-day silent mindfulness and meditation retreat. It was the first retreat back after lockdown had lifted so naturally there were 'rules' to follow ie- masks / allocated bathroom/split retreat groups / the pool wasn't in use / communal spaces not in use/non-self serving buffet. Even with these restrictions in place, I had the most incredible journey. My intention for going on such a retreat was to disconnect from mainstream life and get in touch with my loving and compassionate self. The part of me that doesn't always get a fair run when I'm off doing my thing in London. The environment held me in the most special way. The woodlands, the river, the vineyards, the walking paths, the gardens, the hills... oh my! Absolutely stunning. It has been three and a half weeks since I returned from the retreat and I am still carrying with me the peace, harmony, teachings and bliss I encountered when I was there. The food is literally out of this world and it is grown and harvested in the Sharpham Trust garden. So it truly is: from the seed to the plate. I am plant-based ( vegan ), and I felt completely catered for. Spoilt in fact! I guess what I am trying to say is, going 'off grid' for 6 days in silence with a group of people you don't know in a house and environment that isn't familiar can be scary. The Sharpham Trust know how to curate a nourishing, nurturing, exciting and safe experience.

Sandie Toulson

a month ago, on Google
Had a walk round estate would have liked to gone back but wasn't to be.

If you would like to know more about the information on this page, please contact:

Name: Katie Tokus
Tel: 01803 732708
Email: [email protected]
Address: Sharpham House, Sharpham Estate, Ashprington, Totnes, Devon, TQ9 7UT