Top
Top

Reviews of Sharpham nationally & internationally

Our Reviews

Leave us a review

Putting us at Number 1 in a list of the best UK and European meditation retreats - "It’s good news that the estate has unveiled the 18-room Coach House, converted from its 18th-century stable yard, and concentrating on nature-based mindfulness."

The Times Travel section - January 2022

Listing us in 16 of the UK's best well-being retreats 

Suitcase Magazine - January 2022

Listing us in 15 of the UK's best virtual wellbeing retreats: "Start the new year with this inspiring choice of online health breaks"

The Guardian - January 2021

"A superior venue with an unrivalled range of breaks centred on mindfulness and nature" - We are highlighted as Retreat of the Year in an article written by the Queen of Retreats

Psychologies Magazine - January 2021

"Where else can you practise walking meditation among roses and lilies in a formal garden, or meditate in a blue-painted music room where the marble fireplace is a sculptured work of art?" - a feature on our silent retreats in Sharpham House

The Daily Telegraph - January 2021

Listing us in 10 of the UK's best outdoor wellbeing retreats: "Where the water’s ebb and flow and the rhythmic paddling help cultivate mindful awareness"

The Guardian - September 2020

Listing us in 30 great breaks in Devon & Dorset - "Our pick is a 5-night silent retreat, involving meditation, exercise & relaxation, with vegetarian dining"

The Times - April 2020

"If you really want to make a connection with nature, opt for one of the Woodland retreats" - listing us in '25 of the best retreats to reboot your life'

The Observer - January 2019

We feature twice in a list of top 10 UK wellness retreats, being described as "perfect" and "delightful"

London Evening Standard - June 2019

'At the Grade 1-listed Sharpham House, you'll concentrate on stillness and appreciate nature as a path back to feeling centred...come ready to awaken your senses'

Country Living - January 2020

"On a 4-night Walking Retreat, attendees can deepen their knowledge of the surrounding coastline while also developing their mindfulness and meditation practice"

Coast magazine - January 2020

"Here you'll concentrate on understanding the land, appreciating its history and bringing your hectic mind to a place of acceptance and peace"

Reader's Digest - January 2020

"Full immersion in the natural world", listing us in '10 of the best meditation retreats in the UK & Europe'

The Guardian - January 2019

We're in a list of 'best wellbeing breaks and yoga retreats in the UK' as the 'best for getting back to nature'

Time Out London - January 2019

"I could feel the soothing effects of being at Sharpham" -  in a feature on stillness

Sunday Telegraph - February 2018

"Four days at a retreat designed specifically for people with 'burnout' felt like a gift"

Glamour Magazine - March 2018

"Learning to be more 'mindful' and live in the moment can give you renewed energy and clarity, and the secular mindfulness retreats at this Grade 1 listed Georgian mansion are a great place to start"

"Retreat in tranquil surroundings" - featured in 10 idyllic ways to escape Christmas

"The views across the River Dart valley are worth the visit alone"

"Gorgeous...inspirational" - feature about silent retreats

The Daily Telegraph

The Barn Retreat Centre as one of "eight of the best retreats in Britain and Europe"

The Sunday Telegraph

"A small, nurturing, inspiring place...just lovely" - Readers recommend The Barn in The Guardian

The Guardian

Beverley Todd

in the last week, on Google
A truly wonderful experience within the stunning surrounds of Sharpham House, with the added backdrop of the River Dart. Breathtaking! And one certainly gets time to breathe at the Retreat. Itā€™s an opportunity to step away from day to day activities submerging oneself within nature and mindfulness activities. The facilitators were wonderful. Supporting and caring. My retreat was for my own personal well-being, in addition to helping inform my work within the therapeutic community. I came away relaxed and richer for the experience.

elaine kimber

a week ago, on Google
I had attended a lovely self-compassion retreat at Sharpham House recently. The schedule was the perfect balance of learning and sharing with time to walk around the scenic area as well as reflect and be alone in silence. The food was so delicious that I bought their recipe book. I found the leader, Lucy, very gentle, calm and approachable, it was lovely to learn from her. I will be going back to Sharpham House for another retreat only 7 weeks after my first retreat!

Carol Alexander

in the last week, on Google
Beautifully refurbished with stunning grounds, luxury beds, linen, towels, en-suite rooms, daily swims in outdoor pool, organic gardening and fabulous vegetarian menu. Wendy the chef is amazing and coordinators Frank and Caroline did an amazing job of reconnecting, supporting and grounding us all with about 3 hours of mediation a day. Got back yesterday and have already booked to return in August -- which will only be my third stay at Sharpham but it already feels like home. Can't imagine a better holiday for me than this, ever!

nara greenway

a month ago, on Google
The 5 day retreat at Sharpham House was a wonderful experience for me. It was so great to escape from everyday life for a while. Instead of the continual sound and smell of traffic we were surrounded by bird song šŸŽµ periods of silence, breeze in the trees and the scent of flowers . The house was was both beautiful and comfortable.The setting was breath taking.The staff wrapped us in friendly kindness and the food delicious, very healthy and inventive. So our bodies were well cared for and our minds were as well through the skillful guided periods of meditation lead by the teachers as well as the time when some of us needed to take the medicine of sleep. We began as a group of strangers and ended as friends. All in all a renewing holistic detoxification of mind and body and I am profoundly grateful for it.

Verity Brown

a week ago, on Google
Set in beautiful surroundings, Sharpham's Coach House is a welcoming and relaxing environment in which to take a break from the normal pressures of daily life. The staff are attentive and supportive, the food is delicious and the meditation sessions and time away from screens gave me greater perspective. The week as a whole encouraged me to slow down and to take time to appreciate simple pleasures more. I will definitely return to Sharpham having discovered this haven. Highly recommended.

If you would like to know more about the information on this page, please contact:

Name: Katie Tokus
Tel: 01803 732708
Email: [email protected]
Address: Sharpham House, Sharpham Estate, Ashprington, Totnes, Devon, TQ9 7UT