Top
Top

Reviews of Sharpham nationally & internationally

Our Reviews

Leave us a review

A 3-page feature by writer Liz Jones, who says after a stay on a 3-night silent retreat in Sharpham House: "Today, I realise that having a few calmer, kinder people in the world can only be a good thing".

The Daily Mail - September 2022

Featuring us at the top of a list of 'the best meditation and mindfulness retreats in the UK': "A holistic retreat which rejuvenates body and mind"

The Independent - July 2022

Featuring us and our foraging events in a piece on Totnes: "Today, a string of events, retreats and courses on the estate reflect this legacy, covering everything from meditation and forest bathing to yoga and birdwatching"

National Geographic Traveller - July 2022

Listing our silent retreat in Sharpham House in 10 of the UK's best off-grid retreats: "Sharpham House is the glorious base for this five-night retreat"

The Guardian - May 2022

Putting us at Number 1 in a list of the best UK and European meditation retreats - "It’s good news that the estate has unveiled the 18-room Coach House, converted from its 18th-century stable yard, and concentrating on nature-based mindfulness."

The Times Travel section - January 2022

Listing us in 16 of the UK's best well-being retreats 

Suitcase Magazine - January 2022

Listing us in 15 of the UK's best virtual wellbeing retreats: "Start the new year with this inspiring choice of online health breaks"

The Guardian - January 2021

"A superior venue with an unrivalled range of breaks centred on mindfulness and nature" - We are highlighted as Retreat of the Year in an article written by the Queen of Retreats

Psychologies Magazine - January 2021

"Where else can you practise walking meditation among roses and lilies in a formal garden, or meditate in a blue-painted music room where the marble fireplace is a sculptured work of art?" - a feature on our silent retreats in Sharpham House

The Daily Telegraph - January 2021

Listing us in 10 of the UK's best outdoor wellbeing retreats: "Where the water’s ebb and flow and the rhythmic paddling help cultivate mindful awareness"

The Guardian - September 2020

Listing us in 30 great breaks in Devon & Dorset - "Our pick is a 5-night silent retreat, involving meditation, exercise & relaxation, with vegetarian dining"

The Times - April 2020

"If you really want to make a connection with nature, opt for one of the Woodland retreats" - listing us in '25 of the best retreats to reboot your life'

The Observer - January 2019

We feature twice in a list of top 10 UK wellness retreats, being described as "perfect" and "delightful"

London Evening Standard - June 2019

'At the Grade 1-listed Sharpham House, you'll concentrate on stillness and appreciate nature as a path back to feeling centred...come ready to awaken your senses'

Country Living - January 2020

"On a 4-night Walking Retreat, attendees can deepen their knowledge of the surrounding coastline while also developing their mindfulness and meditation practice"

Coast magazine - January 2020

"Here you'll concentrate on understanding the land, appreciating its history and bringing your hectic mind to a place of acceptance and peace"

Reader's Digest - January 2020

"Full immersion in the natural world", listing us in '10 of the best meditation retreats in the UK & Europe'

The Guardian - January 2019

We're in a list of 'best wellbeing breaks and yoga retreats in the UK' as the 'best for getting back to nature'

Time Out London - January 2019

"I could feel the soothing effects of being at Sharpham" -  in a feature on stillness

Sunday Telegraph - February 2018

"Four days at a retreat designed specifically for people with 'burnout' felt like a gift"

Glamour Magazine - March 2018

"Learning to be more 'mindful' and live in the moment can give you renewed energy and clarity, and the secular mindfulness retreats at this Grade 1 listed Georgian mansion are a great place to start"

"Retreat in tranquil surroundings" - featured in 10 idyllic ways to escape Christmas

"The views across the River Dart valley are worth the visit alone"

"Gorgeous...inspirational" - feature about silent retreats

The Daily Telegraph

The Barn Retreat Centre as one of "eight of the best retreats in Britain and Europe"

The Sunday Telegraph

"A small, nurturing, inspiring place...just lovely" - Readers recommend The Barn in The Guardian

The Guardian

Susan Papas

a month ago, on Google
The 6-day mindfulness retreat I attended at The Coach House on the Sharpham Estate in Devon, England, was an oasis of peacefulness, meditation, rural beauty, and - far more than I had expected - connection with a group of strangers (including two wonderful coordinators) who quickly became mindful companions. An unforgettable experience in gorgeous surroundings. 🧘‍♀️🌳🌼

Billie

a month ago, on Google
Have just returned from the mindfulness for beginners retreat at Sharpham House and what a magical, transformative experience it was! The house and the grounds are truly breath-taking, the natural beauty of the place is a big aspect of what you take away with you; a deeper connection with nature. The facilitators Steven and Lynette were both holding, humorous and skilled mindfulness leaders. Wonderful to learn from and be around. I felt taken care of on this retreat in many ways which I realised was something I deeply needed. The food is delicious and nourishing and the walled garden of veggies was one of my favourite places to spend time. The retreat strikes a good balance between discipline/structured practice with extended periods of silence and time to yourself. In my downtime I enjoyed chatting with others on the retreat, spending time alone reading, swimming in the pool or colouring, just sitting in the gardens. I left the retreat rested, calm and inspired. For anyone feeling a little frazzled by life and in need of slowing down for a reset, this is a good retreat for you. I will be back!

Louise Neicho (lou lou)

2 weeks ago, on Google
THE most magical and amazing place for a retreat. I cannot recommend Sharpham highly enough, I'm telling all my friends! The food is divine, the location is breathtaking and the facilitators are highly skilled. I'm creating space in my diary for the next one very soon!

Scotia Spice

3 months ago, on Google
I had a truly wonderful experience at Sharpham on the 5 day silent retreat. It was a deep delve into stillness and meditation, which was life affirming and nourishing. Sharpham looked after us in every detail, from the kind supportive knowledgeable retreat leaders to the truly delicious food and calm and beautiful atmosphere of the house. And of course the surroundings themselves take centre stage, beautiful gardens, stunning countryside and breath-taking views. Thank you to every one of you who made my stay so special.

Tessa Turner

in the last week, on Google
A wonderfully run property, very very beautiful, with various venues for meditation, to suit all tastes (and pockets?). I've been on two different retreats and although I really loved my time there, I don't feel the need to rush back but I may feel differently in a couple of years' time. It's all about "the group" you share your time with while there and it felt very middle class and not at all representative of "real life" here in the UK. This probably would not worry most people and I would very much recommend Sharpham to anyone looking for a retreat giving them meditation, peace and beauty.

If you would like to know more about the information on this page, please contact:

Name: Katie Tokus
Tel: 01803 732708
Email: [email protected]
Address: Sharpham House, Sharpham Estate, Ashprington, Totnes, Devon, TQ9 7UT