Top
Top

Reviews of Sharpham nationally & internationally

Our Reviews

Leave us a review

Featuring us at the top of a list of 'the best meditation and mindfulness retreats in the UK': "A holistic retreat which rejuvenates body and mind"

The Independent - July 2022

Featuring us and our foraging events in a piece on Totnes: "Today, a string of events, retreats and courses on the estate reflect this legacy, covering everything from meditation and forest bathing to yoga and birdwatching"

National Geographic Traveller - July 2022

Listing our silent retreat in Sharpham House in 10 of the UK's best off-grid retreats: "Sharpham House is the glorious base for this five-night retreat"

The Guardian - May 2022

Putting us at Number 1 in a list of the best UK and European meditation retreats - "It’s good news that the estate has unveiled the 18-room Coach House, converted from its 18th-century stable yard, and concentrating on nature-based mindfulness."

The Times Travel section - January 2022

Listing us in 16 of the UK's best well-being retreats 

Suitcase Magazine - January 2022

Listing us in 15 of the UK's best virtual wellbeing retreats: "Start the new year with this inspiring choice of online health breaks"

The Guardian - January 2021

"A superior venue with an unrivalled range of breaks centred on mindfulness and nature" - We are highlighted as Retreat of the Year in an article written by the Queen of Retreats

Psychologies Magazine - January 2021

"Where else can you practise walking meditation among roses and lilies in a formal garden, or meditate in a blue-painted music room where the marble fireplace is a sculptured work of art?" - a feature on our silent retreats in Sharpham House

The Daily Telegraph - January 2021

Listing us in 10 of the UK's best outdoor wellbeing retreats: "Where the water’s ebb and flow and the rhythmic paddling help cultivate mindful awareness"

The Guardian - September 2020

Listing us in 30 great breaks in Devon & Dorset - "Our pick is a 5-night silent retreat, involving meditation, exercise & relaxation, with vegetarian dining"

The Times - April 2020

"If you really want to make a connection with nature, opt for one of the Woodland retreats" - listing us in '25 of the best retreats to reboot your life'

The Observer - January 2019

We feature twice in a list of top 10 UK wellness retreats, being described as "perfect" and "delightful"

London Evening Standard - June 2019

'At the Grade 1-listed Sharpham House, you'll concentrate on stillness and appreciate nature as a path back to feeling centred...come ready to awaken your senses'

Country Living - January 2020

"On a 4-night Walking Retreat, attendees can deepen their knowledge of the surrounding coastline while also developing their mindfulness and meditation practice"

Coast magazine - January 2020

"Here you'll concentrate on understanding the land, appreciating its history and bringing your hectic mind to a place of acceptance and peace"

Reader's Digest - January 2020

"Full immersion in the natural world", listing us in '10 of the best meditation retreats in the UK & Europe'

The Guardian - January 2019

We're in a list of 'best wellbeing breaks and yoga retreats in the UK' as the 'best for getting back to nature'

Time Out London - January 2019

"I could feel the soothing effects of being at Sharpham" -  in a feature on stillness

Sunday Telegraph - February 2018

"Four days at a retreat designed specifically for people with 'burnout' felt like a gift"

Glamour Magazine - March 2018

"Learning to be more 'mindful' and live in the moment can give you renewed energy and clarity, and the secular mindfulness retreats at this Grade 1 listed Georgian mansion are a great place to start"

"Retreat in tranquil surroundings" - featured in 10 idyllic ways to escape Christmas

"The views across the River Dart valley are worth the visit alone"

"Gorgeous...inspirational" - feature about silent retreats

The Daily Telegraph

The Barn Retreat Centre as one of "eight of the best retreats in Britain and Europe"

The Sunday Telegraph

"A small, nurturing, inspiring place...just lovely" - Readers recommend The Barn in The Guardian

The Guardian

Miranda

in the last week, on Google
What an incredible walking retreat at Sharpham house, beautiful house with stunning views over the river Dart and surrounding hills. I've come away feeling deeply nourished and closer to the natural world. I can't fault the retreat, lovely comfortable single occupancy accommodation and great food. I can't eat dairy or gluten and was very well catered for. Outdoor swimming pool perfect for after a days walking. Knowledgeable and supportive teachers. Kindness is at the heart of everything The Sharpham Trust does. Thank you, I'll be back again to visit The Barn as soon as I can.

Amy Hughes-Tiley

a month ago, on Google
Who knew 3 days in the woods would be so impactful? Sharpham is a magical place. The retreat was powerful yet gentle. A nourishing experience in all ways, from the delicious food to the wonderful people, to the tranquil surroundings. I'll be going back again. I wasn't quite prepared to come back to the real world, so bear that in mind if you're a newbie to retreats like I was. Magical! Thank you all X

Carola Emrich-Fisher

a month ago, on Google
Sharpham House is a very special place and the retreats run there by Sharpham Trust are absolutely amazing. The perfect retreat setting, the staff and facilitators at Sharpham House are the best I have ever encountered: kind and professional, knowledgeable and experienced. From the kitchen staff to the administrators and retreat leaders, the personnel embodies mindfulness in all their inter-actions and help make the retreatants' experience deep and meaningful. I came away nurtured, rejuvenated and balanced. I found grounding and healing and deep connection to my mediation practice. The surrounding views are stunningly beautiful and serene, the grounds are beautifully cared for and the buildings lovingly kept. I cannot wait to return to Sharpham and feel deeply grateful for the opportunity.

nigel paterson

a month ago, on Google
Had a lovely time at the Bio-Blitz- lots fantastic teaching, through the walks. The Rewilding project was well explained and all the different species of plant, bird, invertebrates and mammals helped to prove its value so far. Thank you for a special memorable time!

Scotia Spice

2 months ago, on Google
I had a truly wonderful experience at Sharpham on the 5 day silent retreat. It was a deep delve into stillness and meditation, which was life affirming and nourishing. Sharpham looked after us in every detail, from the kind supportive knowledgeable retreat leaders to the truly delicious food and calm and beautiful atmosphere of the house. And of course the surroundings themselves take centre stage, beautiful gardens, stunning countryside and breath-taking views. Thank you to every one of you who made my stay so special.

If you would like to know more about the information on this page, please contact:

Name: Katie Tokus
Tel: 01803 732708
Email: [email protected]
Address: Sharpham House, Sharpham Estate, Ashprington, Totnes, Devon, TQ9 7UT