Top
Top

Reviews of Sharpham nationally & internationally

Our Reviews

Leave us a review

Listing us in 15 of the UK's best virtual wellbeing retreats: "Start the new year with this inspiring choice of online health breaks"

The Guardian - January 2021

"A superior venue with an unrivalled range of breaks centred on mindfulness and nature" - We are highlighted as Retreat of the Year in an article written by the Queen of Retreats

Psychologies Magazine - January 2021

"Where else can you practise walking meditation among roses and lilies in a formal garden, or meditate in a blue-painted music room where the marble fireplace is a sculptured work of art?" - a feature on our silent retreats in Sharpham House

The Daily Telegraph - January 2021

Listing us in 10 of the UK's best outdoor wellbing retreats: "Where the water’s ebb and flow and the rhythmic paddling help cultivate mindful awareness"

The Guardian - September 2020

Listing us in 30 great breaks in Devon & Dorset - "Our pick is a 5-night silent retreat, involving meditation, exercise & relaxation, with vegetarian dining"

The Times - April 2020

"If you really want to make a connection with nature, opt for one of the Woodland retreats" - listing us in '25 of the best retreats to reboot your life'

The Observer - January 2019

We feature twice in a list of top 10 UK wellness retreats, being described as "perfect" and "delightful"

London Evening Standard - June 2019

'At the Grade 1-listed Sharpham House, you'll concentrate on stillness and appreciate nature as a path back to feeling centred...come ready to awaken your senses'

Country Living - January 2020

"On a 4-night Walking Retreat, attendees can deepen their knowledge of the surrounding coastline while also developing their mindfulness and meditation practice"

Coast magazine - January 2020

"Here you'll concentrate on understanding the land, appreciating its history and bringing your hectic mind to a place of acceptance and peace"

Reader's Digest - January 2020

"Full immersion in the natural world", listing us in '10 of the best meditation retreats in the UK & Europe'

The Guardian - January 2019

We're in a list of 'best wellbeing breaks and yoga retreats in the UK' as the 'best for getting back to nature'

Time Out London - January 2019

"I could feel the soothing effects of being at Sharpham" -  in a feature on stillness

Sunday Telegraph - February 2018

"Four days at a retreat designed specifically for people with 'burnout' felt like a gift"

Glamour Magazine - March 2018

"Learning to be more 'mindful' and live in the moment can give you renewed energy and clarity, and the secular mindfulness retreats at this Grade 1 listed Georgian mansion are a great place to start"

"Retreat in tranquil surroundings" - featured in 10 idyllic ways to escape Christmas

"The views across the River Dart valley are worth the visit alone"

"Gorgeous...inspirational" - feature about silent retreats

The Daily Telegraph

The Barn Retreat Centre as one of "eight of the best retreats in Britain and Europe"

The Sunday Telegraph

"A small, nurturing, inspiring place...just lovely" - Readers recommend The Barn in The Guardian

The Guardian

Angela McCulloch

a week ago, on Google
This was a wonderful retreat, I had a amazing experience here. Sharpham is a beautiful house in a stunning location. The retreat leader was kind and gentle in her approach and this supported me immensely in my first introduction to mindfulness. The food was divine!!! I would definitely recommend this retreat for anyone embarking on their first journey into mindful meditation.

Xavier Fontenille

2 weeks ago, on Google
I attended the 5 night ‘Find Your Peace’ retreat led by Ethan Pollock and Nina Jankelson, who were both inspiring, holding, kind, and also brought a sense of light and humour! As well as having some rest, one of my aims was to bring a fresh perspective to my meditation practice, and in both senses, I got what I needed from the five days. Staying in Sharpham house was a nourishing and luxurious experience, especially having a dip in the small open air swimming pool every day! Ethan offered great teaching and in particular helped to bring a sense of acceptance and kindness into my meditation practice. I was also very grateful to Nina for encouraging a more direct experience of nature and belonging to the earth with the option of outdoor sitting meditation, and a wonderful practice laying on the ground under a beautiful tree which is estimated to be 1000 years old! Food and accommodation were superb and only added to a sense of being well and cared for.

Mark Thompson

3 weeks ago, on Google
Attended evening session in September 2021 learning about bats and the night sky. Nicely presented by Lisa of the Sharpham team together with Dartmoor Skies. Fascinating and left us wanting to learn more. Thank you. Sarah and Mark

John Allen

a month ago, on Google
Thoroughly recommend the 3 day Mindfulness & Meditation course to ignite or develop an existing interest. The setting is beautiful, food excellent, and the leaders friendly and helpful. I really appreciated my time at Sharpham, and think anyone with an open mind would benefit from what it has to offer. anynbe with

Michael Smith

3 weeks ago, on Google
First off the setting is beautiful... and magical! The bell tents are set into the wood, it's pitch black at night and you can see the stars, perfect around the campfire 🔥 . Little paths take you all round the wood underneath the woodland canopy... perfect for exploring and finding private corners. The food is fabulous, I was more than happy to refrain from meat and my body seemed to really appreciate it. Most importantly you are guided and looked after by a team that are very knowledgeable and very in tune with nature and human nature. You are led into secret areas inside yourself without even knowing you were going to go there. This was very surprising for me, I was coaxed along up to my limits but with no pressure. I think this was needed for me, I'm not a sharing person and everything usually stays inside. I had some amazing experiences with nature and myself. I can not recommend this course highly enough whether as an individual looking for a deeper meaning to life, a reconnection with nature or just a way to reset from the stress of daily life and meet like minded individuals with some type of itch to scratch. And on this final note take plenty of mosquito repellant. These were the only unwelcome guests. Namaste 🙏

If you would like to know more about the information on this page, please contact:

Name: Katie Tokus
Tel: 01803 732708
Email: [email protected]
Address: Sharpham House, Sharpham Estate, Ashprington, Totnes, Devon, TQ9 7UT